Georgia Ordinance of Secession with Signatures

Ordinance of Secession 1861

On January 19, 1861, Georgia passed its ordinance of secession at the Statehouse in Milledgeville. It was signed by 293 delegates on January 21. This source document lists the names of these 293 delegates as well as the 6 protest signatures at the bottom. George W. Crawford, who wrote the ordinance above the signatures, was at the time of the signing, a representative of Richmond County but had also been elected chair of the proceedings. Crawford had previously been both Attorney General of Georgia and Governor. Below the original source, the transcription of Crawford’s letter is linked. 

Ordinance of Secession 1861
Ordinance of Secession with Signers. Georgia Historical Society Collection. MS 1361-BS.

Click here for the Transcript of the Ordinance


Democratic Convention Address, 1856

Georgia State Democratic Convention Address, 1856

On July 4, 1856, Georgia Democrats held their state convention in Milledgeville. This rare pamphlet has a transcript of the address given by William H. Stiles at the Georgia State Democratic Convention in 1856.

An address, delivered before the Georgia Democratic State Convention held at Milledgeville, July 4th, 1856 by William H. Stiles. From the Georgia Historical Society Rare Pamphlet Collection. E435 .S85 1856.